A stalker in the making


So I’m a little creeped out by the new guy at work.  Everyone at my work is a little off in their personality in some way or another, but this guy has reached a new level of awkward towards me.  So I got stuck needing his help to set up for a demo, which should have taken 20 minutes, but I ended up stuck in the lab alone with him for 1.5 hours 😦  He’s very nice and pleasant, but he’s clearly very lonely and that somehow became my problem.  I get it, he’s stuck alone on the otherside of campus and his wife works nights, but I don’t see why I have to be the work friend.  I don’t have much reason to interact with him outside of meetings.  So when I was stuck int he lab he started talking all about geeky stuff, some of which I was interested in, most of it I was just trying to be polite and nice and act how I thought a normal socially correct human being would.

Well, that clearly backfired.  He mistook my politeness for genuine interest and is now constantly trying to find more ways to spend time with me.  Mostly by bringing in his homemade board games and trying to get me to play.  The day after that meeting he brought a backpack full of homemade games and walked all the way across campus to see if I wanted to play with him.   Every time he sees me he wants to know if I have time to play.  Before I knew how creepy this would turn out to be, I agreed, but got called away at the last minute (you know, for WORK related things, because I’m at WORK!).  He seemed very miffed by that, but oh well.  I tried to be vague and never made a another time with him, but he clearly did not get the message.

He stopped by my office (with the backpack again!) without any warning today.  I couldn’t give a good excuse as to why I couldn’t play so I ended up spending an hour playing.  It was fun and once the game started going he acted like a normal person, but as soon as I said I had to go back to work, he entered creep mode again.  Not even before the game was put away he said “That was fun we definitely need to do that more often” and “Mind if I walk back down to your office?  I don’t want to go back to mine yet”.  Ugh.  Then he goes into trying to setup the next time to play, but I seriously can’t give him a reliable time with the amount of work I have to do (And shouldn’t he be working too?).  He was very adament about getting the procedure down for trying to setup a time (email, stop by).  Again, vagueness went over his head.  If he would just chill the fuck out I wouldn’t mind so much, since that game was fun.  But seriously dude, back off.

This is what I get for being nice.

Leave a Reply

